Santiago de Chile

After a 15 hour long journey I landed in Santiago  de Chile. And here I am, 11 053 km away from home and living life 4 hours behind.

This is the first time I write a blog (other than my teenage years) but I felt like it would be a great way to share my adventures and experiences during my 4 month backpacking trip.

Yesterday (9th of March) was Day 1, I arrived at the Bellavista Hostel in the morning and decided to go on a free city tour with a girl from the Netherlands who’s staying in the same room as I am. We saw the highlights of the city, including the Plaza de Armas, the Presidential Palace, and some of the various neighbourhoods of the city. I experienced my first journey on the Chilean metro which is exactly like any other European metro really. Our tour guide told us a lot about the history of the city and its politics during the dictatorship, which I’d known nothing about! A little anecdote, Chile is a very macho country and coffee is not really a thing here, they had to find a way of encouraging Chileans to start drinking coffee, how? By creating what you call “café con piernas” (‘coffee with legs’). All over the city you will walk past cafés with blacked out windows and inside you will find men being served coffee by waitresses wearing very little clothing, at some point during the day the waitresses will take all their clothes off but no one knows when exactly, some men will spend their whole day in these cafés just to get a glimpse of them! A very macho idea as you can imagine, but it seems to have worked!

In a couple of days I will be heading to Valparaiso, a small and very arty town not too far from Santiago, recognised by the UNESCO for its beauty. I will post photos of the streets as soon as I’m there!

Après avoir voyagé pendant 15 heures, j’ai enfin atterrit à Santiago de Chile. Et me voilà, à 11 053 km de la maison et vivant la vie avec une différence de 4 heures.

C’est la première fois que j’écris un blog (appart ceux de mes années d’ado) mais je me suis dit que ce serait un moyen génial de partager mes aventures et mes expériences pendant mon voyage de 4 mois.

Hier (9 Mars) fut le Jour 1, je suis arrivée à l’auberge Bellavista dans la matinée et l’après-midi je suis allée faire une visite guidée gratuite de la ville avec une fille des Pays-Bas qui est dans la même chambre que moi. On a pu voir les endroits clés de la ville, la Plaza de Armas, le Palais Présidentiel, et quelques uns des différents quartiers de la ville. J’ai pris le métro chilien pour la première fois, qui ressemble en faite beaucoup à un métro européen. Notre guide nous a beaucoup parlé de l’histoire de la ville et des politiques pendant la dictature, que j’ignorais complètement! Une petite anecdote, le Chili est un pays très macho et le café n’existe pas vraiment ici, il fallait qu’ils trouvent un moyen pour que les Chiliens consomment plus de café, comment? En créant ce qu’on appel le “café con piernas” (“café avec des jambes”). Partout dans la ville on trouve des cafés avec des vitres teintées et à l’intérieur on y trouve des hommes servit par des serveuses portant très peu de vêtements, à un moment de la journée les serveuses enlèvent tous leurs habits, mais personne ne sait quand exactement, du coup certains hommes passent leurs journées dans ces cafés à attendre de voir ce moment! Une idée très macho comme vous pouvez l’imaginer, mais ça a l’air de marcher!

Dans quelques jours je part direction Valparaiso, une petite ville très artistique pas loin de Santiago, et reconnue par l’UNESCO pour sa beauté. Je partagerais mes photos des ruelles dés que j’y met les pieds!

Leave a comment