Cordoba, Argentina

󾓪 My stay in Cordoba was a short one, I stayed for two days in the city people call the ‘little Buenos Aires’.

I arrived on the 10th of April after an overnight bus journey from Salta. Cordoba is a lovely, big, colonial city full of mostly students. Cordoba was the first city to give free university education to students, it is said to have some of the best schools and exchange programs. On my first day there I was welcomed with a yummy breakfast by the owner of the hostel I was staying in, a lovely man who loved to tell stories about every day things. The hostel I was staying in was the cheapest I found, not many backpackers but mostly Argentinians looking for a place to stay in the long term.

I went on the free walking tour (which is available in a lot of Latin American countries and which I recommend everyone in going to). The starting point was in the main square, our guide showed us around the main cathedral before talking about the time where a lot of people, especially students, went missing during the dictatorship, ‘los desaparecidos’. Grandmothers still stand in main squares all over Argentina in the hope of finding a grand daughter or a grand son who would have been adopted by the military back at the time. The history of these people is still very present in their everyday lives.

We walked around the city, seeing various different churches, making a stop at an ‘alfajor’ shop (Alfajores are a kind of biscuit with dulce de leche in between each layer, very sweet but ever so good!), talking about life in Cordoba now and what an amazing place it truly is.

Whilst I was there I treated myself to two meals out (luxury!) in two very hipster bar/restaurants. On the 2nd night I had pizza, so much pizza, and I can still remember how bloated I felt after it all but every little bite was worth it!

On the 12th of April I had my bus booked to Buenos Aires, with a slight change of plan. I decided to head to Montevideo in Uruguay with Paul, the guy I met back in Salta. A little company is always a nice thing to have for a while whilst travelling!

󾓧 Le temps que j’ai passé à Cordoba ne fut pas très long, je suis restée deux jours dans la ville que l’on appelle le ‘petit Buenos Aires’.

Je suis arrivée le 10 Avril après avoir prit un bus de nuit depuis Salta. Cordoba est une belle, grande ville coloniale remplie d’étudiants. Cordoba fut la première ville d’Amérique Latine a offrir des études gratuites en université, la ville comprend certaines des meilleures écoles et programmes d’échange. À mon arrivée le propriétaire de l’auberge dans laquelle je restais m’a offert un bon petit déjeuner, un homme adorable qui adore raconter des histoires. Je suis restée dans l’auberge la moins cher de la ville, pas de voyageurs comme moi mais plutôt des familles ou des couples d’Argentins à la recherche d’un endroit où rester à long terme.

Je suis allée faire la visitée gratuite de la ville (disponible dans la plupart des villes d’Amérique Latine et que je recommande fortement). Le point de rendez vous fut sur la place principale, notre guide nous a fait visiter la cathédrale avant de nous parler de l’époque ou, pendant la dictature, beaucoup de personnes, surtout des étudiants ont disparus, ‘los desaparecidos’. Les grands mères se réunissent encore de nos jours sur les places à travers toute l’Argentine, dans l’espoir de retrouver un petit fils ou une petite fille qui, à l’époque, auraient étés adoptés par les militaires. Le passé de ces personnes est encore fortement présent dans leurs vies de tous les jours.

Nous nous sommes promenés dans la ville, visitant plusieurs églises, en faisant un arrêt dans une boutique ‘d’aldajores’ (Un alfajor est un biscuit souvent recouvert de chocolat et avec du dulce de leche entre chaque couche de biscuit, très sucrée mais tellement bon!), discutant de la vie à Cordoba de nos jours et à quel point c’était une ville incroyable.

Pendant mon temps la bas je me suis faite plaisir et je suis sortie manger deux fois (le luxe!) dans deux bar/restaurant assez hipster. Le 2ème soir j’ai mangé de la pizza, tellement de pizza et je me souviens encore de comment je me suis sentie balonnée après le repas mais chaque croc en valait la peine!

Le 12 Avril j’avais mon bus de réservé direction Buenos Aires, avec un petit changement d’itinéraire. Je me suis décidée à aller à Montevideo en Uruguay avec Paul, le mec que j’avais rencontré à Salta. Un peu de compagnie est toujours la bienvenue lorsque tu voyages solo depuis un moment!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
The main square | La place principale
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
The Cathedral
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
A couple of the names of the ones who disappeared | Une partie des noms de ceux qui ont disparus

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
A very thin building | Un bâtiment très fin

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
The pizza night | La soirée pizza
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Yummy yummy yummy
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Another little treat | Un autre petit plaisir
Leave a Reply

