Montevideo, Uruguay

󾓪 Here I am, finally writing about my stay in Montevideo!

On the 13th of April, after an overnight bus journey from Buenos Aires with Paul we made it to Montevideo! We were very lucky to find bus tickets as we had no idea Uruguay was a very popular destination for a lot of Argentinians during Semana Santa… We were meant to get the ferry over but prices were really high because of the holiday, bus it was!

Early in the morning we made it to our hostel, Compay Hostel. My week-end trip turned into a week stay. Whilst I was there, most days, everything was shut due to the holidays but the hostel was full and I met so many lovely people from Brazil, Argentina, France… My week there was a nice and chill one, I spent my time relaxing, drawing and painting. Montevideo is the capital city of Uruguay, a city on the coast. I enjoyed walks along La Rambla, a pedestrian path facing the ocean, walks around the very quiet city (streets were empty!), discoverig the old town and eating churros with Paul in the sun, facing the beach, yummy! I would love to go back and explore some of the towns on the coast, they are meant to be lovely but high season is over now so a lot of the hostels have shut for the winter… Oh well, next time!

Now it’s time for me to go and discover the big capital city of Buenos Aires and meet up with Femke (we met on my first day travelling, in Santiago de Chile) and make the most of her last days on this continent!

󾓧 Me voila enfin motivée à écrire mon article sur mon temps passé à Montevideo!

Le 13 Avril, après un trajet de nuit en bus avec Paul de Buenos Aires, nous sommes arrivés à Montevideo! On a eu de la chance de trouver un bus qui voulait bien nous prendre, on ne savait pas que Montevideo était LA destination de vacances d’une grande majorité d’Argentins pendant la Semana Santa… Notre idée de base était de prendre le ferry mais les prix étaient bien trop élevés à cause des vacances, du coup nous voila partis en bus!

Tôt le matin nous sommes arrivés à l’auberge, Compay Hostel. Mon voyage d’un week-end s’est transformé en une semaine. Pendant mon temps la bas, pratiquement tout était fermé dans la ville mais l’auberge était remplie et j’ai rencontré tout plein de jolies personnes du Brésil, d’Argentine, du Chili, de France… Ma semaine passée la bas fut très tranquille, j’ai pu passer mon temps à dessiner et à peindre. Montevideo est la capitale de l’Uruguay, située en bord de mer. J’ai pu profiter de promenades le long de La Rambla, une promenade péatonale longeant l’océan, de la ville très calme (les rues étaient vides!) et de sa vieille ville, j’ai même manger des churros avec Paul au soleil face à la plage, miam! J’adorerais y retourner pour découvrir les villes sur la côte, on m’a dit qu’elles étaient magnifiques mais la haute saison est maintenant terminée, du coup beaucoup d’auberges ont fermées pour l’hiver… Une prochaine fois!

Maintenant il est temps pour moi d’aller à la découverte de la grande capitale Buenos Aires et de retrouver Femke (on s’était rencontré lors de mon tout premier jour à Santiago de Chile) et se profiter de ses derniers jours sur ce continent!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Compay Hostel glass roof
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Down the road | Au bout de la rue
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Just like home | Comme à la maison
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Old town | Vieille ville

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Watercolour practice | Essai à l’aquarelle

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
La Rambla

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Playa de los Pocitos
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Compay Hostel
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Ferry to Buenos Aires
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Ciao Uruguay!
Leave a Reply

