My unexpected week of volunteering

󾓪 Unexpected. Beautiful. Fulfilling. Spiritual. Discovery. An unforgetable experience. Those are the words that come to me (and that you will see writen a lot throughout this post) when I think back on the week I just spent in a place located near the town of Gerenal Rodriguez, in Argentina, a place called EcoYogaPark.

In this blogpost I will resume what my week of volunteering involved and what made it special, in a very unexpected way.

I arrived on Wednesday the 3rd of May, leaving the big city of Buenos Aires behind and rediscovering the Argentinian countryside. This young man, named Bahkta was the first person I met, he showed me to my room where I met my roommate, a girl named Alessa who was only staying for an extra two days or so. I was welcomed with my first very yummy, home made, vegan meal and was told to relax, walk around, discover this new place I had just landed in. And that’s what I did, I discovered the outside of the weird egg shaped building you can see on the cover photo of this post and encountered a group of women dressed in long white robes, I also noticed they were all wearing wooden necklaces around their necks and that’s when they showed me the inside of the egg shaped building.. I had ended up in an Hare Krishna temple, a colourful, clean, incense filled room. Unexpected. I had no idea when I arrived but I was actually going to be volunteering in the midst of a religious community for a week.

And so my week began; I attended my first class in the temple that evening. I listened to the songs they sang, I enjoyed the drums and the ‘ding’ of the bells ringing, I put both knees, hands and head to the ground as the others showed me, I was in a praying position for the very first time of my life, praying to a God I had only just discovered, Krishna (even though my mind was focused on anything but Krishna at that point.. What? How? Is this ok? Wow. Ok!)

Every morning, at 5am you went to the temple and had the first prayer of the day, went back to bed and at 7.30am it was time for me to join María, the woman I worked in the field with, a lovely and very chatty woman from Bolivia who had been working there for nine years now. We turned the earth over, put compost down, planted seeds, picked vegetables.. 4 to 5 hours of work every day except Saturday and Sunday. I have to say my arms are much stronger now!

My first weekend there was a special one for the community, it was a festival weekend. One of the Gurus (there are two of them, one from Germany and the other from Chile), Swami Atulananda Acarya, was coming to the park to give conferences, classes and meet the people there. I consider myself very lucky to have been able to witness this moment, the moment of his arrival, to see the happiness on peoples face, singing to the top of their lungs with tears in their eyes, greeting him over and over again every time he looked their way, mumbling religious words and prayers in sign of respect. Throughout the weekend I attended his classes and conferences in the temple, listened and learned about his beliefs, about the simplicity of his way of life, the spiritual and nonmaterialistic life he and all the rest of the community led.

During my stay at the EcoYogaPark I got in the routine of going to the temple two to four times a day, I managed to learn some of their songs, do a little bit of yoga, a lot of meditating, and talk about all different kinds of things with the lovely people I met there. It was an intense week, physically and emotionally, but I am very glad I ended up staying there for a while and was able to discover a whole new living environment. I had never really shown any interest in religious communities like these before, but to have ended up in one without expecting it was an amazing experience. Oh, what travelling brings to you!

󾓧 Innatendu. Magnifique. Épanouissant. Spirituel. Découverte. Une expérience inoubliable. Voila les mots qui me viennent à l’esprit (et qui se répeteront beaucoup à travers cet article) quand je pense à la semaine que je viens de passer dans un endroit situé pas loin d’une ville appelée General Rodriguez, en Argentine, un endroit appelé EcoYogaPark.

Dans cet article je vais résumer ma semaine de volontariat, ce que j’ai fais et ce qui la rendu spécial, d’une manière très innatendue.

Je suis arrivée le Mercredi 3 Mai, laissant la grande ville de Buenos Aires et à la redécouverte de la campagne argentine. Ma première rencontre fut avec un jeune homme appelé Bahkta, il m’a montré la ou j’allais dormir et j’ai rencontré Alessa, une fille avec qui j’allais partager ma chambre pendant ses derniers jours. On m’a donné la bienvenue avec mon délicieux premier repas vegan, fait maison, avant de me laisser prendre mes repères, me reposer et de me promener à la découverte de cet nouvel endroit dans lequel je venais d’atterir. Et c’est ce que j’ai fais, j’ai découvert l’extérieur de ce bâtiment étrange en forme d’oeuf que vous pouvez voir sur la photo de couverture de cet article avant de faire la rencontre d’un groupe de femmes vétues de longues robes blanches, j’ai aussi remarqué qu’elles portaient toutes les mêmes colliers en bois autour de leurs cou et c’est à ce moment la que j’ai découvert l’intérieur de ce bâtiment en forme d’oeuf… J’avais attérit dans un temple Hare Krishna, une salle propre, remplie de couleurs, à l’odeur d’encens. Innatendu. Je n’avais aucune idée en arrivant mais j’allais en faite passer ma semaine en tant que volontaire au sein d’une communauté religieuse.

Et ma semaine commença donc; ce soir la j’ai assisté à mon premier cours dans le temple. J’ai écouté les chansons qu’ils chantaient, j’ai profité du son des tambours et du ‘ding’ des cloches qui sonnaient, je me suis accroupit, les deux genous, mains et tête au sol, comme ils m’ont indiqué de faire, me retrouvant en position de prière pour la première fois de ma vie, honorrant un Dieu que je venais tout juste de découvrir, Krishna (même si à ce moment précis mon esprit pensait à tout sauf à Krishna.. Quoi? Comment? C’est normal? Wow. Bon d’accord!)

Tous les matins, à 5 du matin on allait au temple pour la première prière de la journée, je retournais me coucher avant de me relever à 7h30 pour commencer ma matinée de travail dans les champs avec María, une adorable et très bavarde femme bolivienne qui travaillait la depuis maintenant neuf ans. On a retourné la terre, recouvert de compost, planté des graines, ceuillit des légumes… de 4 à 5 heures de travail par jour, sauf le Samedi et le Dimanche. Je dois dire que mes bras ont prit des forces depuis!

Mon premier weekend fut un weekend spécial pour la communauté, deux jours de festival. Un des Guru (il y en a deux, l’un d’origine allemande et l’autre chiléenne), Swami Atulananda Acarya, venait au parc donner des conférences, des cours et rencontrer les gens présents. Je me considère très chanceuse d’avoir pu assister à ce moment, le moment de son arrivée, de voir le bonheur des gens sur leurs visages, de les écouter chanter avec des larmes dans leurs yeux, le saluant encore et encore à chaque fois que son regard se dirigeait vers eux, murmurant des mots et des prières religieuses en guise de respect. Pendant ce weekend j’ai assisté à ses conférences et aux cours dans le temple, écoutant et apprenant un peu plus sur leurs croyances, sur la simplicité de leurs mode de vie, la vie spirituel et non matériel que lui et le reste de la communauté menait.

Pendant mon temps passé à EcoYogaPark je me suis habitué à leur routine, allant au temple de deux à quatre fois par jour, j’ai réussit à apprendre quelques unes de leurs chansons, faire un peu de yoga, beaucoup de méditation, et parler de différentes choses avec les belles personnes que j’ai pu y rencontrer. Ce fut une semaine intense, physiquement et émotionnellement, mais je suis contente d’avoir pu y rester un peu de temps et de découvrir ce nouveau mode de vie. Je n’avais jamais porté de grand intérêt aux communautés religieuses comme celle-ci, mais d’être attérit au sein d’une d’entre elles sans m’y attendre fut une expérience incroyable. Ahlala, ce que peux t’apporter le voyage!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
The temple 🙏
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Hare Krishna
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
The Guru in the temple

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
The farming area I worked in
Processed with VSCO with  preset
The arrival of the Guru

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
The Guru giving class

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
My very own bedroom
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Preparing food for everyone
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Yummy vegan food

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Rainy rainy day, flooding everything. I didn’t have any sensible shoes so bare foot it was! The Guru walked barefoot too so I felt like it was an ok thing to do, so cold though..

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Processed with VSCO with  preset
Early starts, pretty sunrise

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with  preset
The temple and the moon 🌙

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Vegan breakfast, might not look great but it was delicious!
Leave a Reply

