Volunteering at Roxy and Pablos’ permaculture farm

Puilquen, Posada de Campo |📍 General Belgrano, Argentina 

óŸ“Ș Once I was back in Buenos Aires it was time for me to find another place I could volunteer at… some place not too far from the capital city. I wanted to start as soon as possible and find the volunteering experience I was really after. I signed up to Woofing Argentina and started searching through the list of different permaculture farms (I recommend this website to anyone looking for a volunteer experience anywhere in the world, from farming to hostel work to language teaching… it has it all!) I sent off various messages and received an answer from a woman named Roxana telling me they’d be happy to have me for a week or two. YAY!

And so I was off. I left my hostal sweet hostal (I will write about my stay there in my Buenos Aires blog post…) and said bye to friends and headed off to the Retiro Bus Terminal to catch a bus to a place called General Belgrano, a two hour drive south from Buenos Aires. I was heading back to the beautiful Argentinian countryside.

I was welcomed by Roxana and Camille, another volunteer, who came to pick me up from the bus stop. We drove to the town center to grab some food and some other things before heading to Roxi and Pablos’ farm/home. It was dark by the time we got there so I was going to have to wait until morning to discover my surroundings! I had a nice and quiet first night in, talking to my new roommate Camille and about her experience volunteering and travelling.

8.30am alarm went off the next morning and I finally got to see where I was, what was around me. It was a beautiful morning, we set up a table outside for breakfast in the sun, surrounded by nothing but nature; fields, trees, big blue sky, sun, chickens, sheep and cows in the background.

During the time I spent on the farm I did a lot of mural painting, decorating the garden area they were slowly putting together. During the summer they organise different activities for the children in the town, teaching them how they can be a part in looking after our world and developing their creativity through painting and music. I was also able to work on the eco mud house they had started building. Pablo taught me a lot about the different techniques they used to build each wall and how they were different from each other. During my time there I also learnt how to make ’empanadas’ with a friend of Roxi’s and got used to drinking ‘matĂ©’ on a daily basis. I had a lovely time there and am so glad to have found them.

Pablo and Roxi are two people who carry their hearts in their hands. They made me feel like I was part of their family, eating together, having glasses of wine together in the evenings along with nice long chats about everything and anything; from life on the farm to Argentinian history… Thank you ever so much for your hospitality, your kindness and your love.

Oh, and this weekend they’re organising a workshop to teach people how to make a mud oven/chimney. Winter months are approaching and some families there do not have access to gas to keep them warm. If you’re ever in the area they will be happy to have you, head to General Belgrano in the province of Buenos Aires, and look for a place called ‘Puilquen, Posada de Campo’.

󟓧 Une fois de retour Ă  Buenos Aires il Ă©tait temps pour moi de trouver un nouveau volontariat… quelque part de pas trop Ă©loignĂ© de la capitale. Je voulais commencer le plus vite possible et trouver le volontariat que je recherchais vraiment. Je me suis inscrite sur la page de Woofing Argentina et j’ai commencĂ© Ă  chercher parmis la liste de fermes de permaculture (je recommande cette page internet Ă  toute personne recherchant un volontariat, oĂč que ce soit dans le monde, de travail sur la ferme Ă  dans une auberge Ă  l’enseignement de langues… on y trouve de tout!) J’ai donc envoyĂ© plusieurs messages avant de recevoir une rĂ©ponse d’une femme appelĂ©e Roxana qui disait ĂȘtre heureuse de m’acceuillir pendant une semaine ou deux. YOUHOU!

Me voila donc partit. J’ai quittĂ© ma petite auberge (je vous en parlerais plus dans mon article sur Buenos Aires…), j’ai dis aurevoir Ă  mes amis et je me suis dirigĂ©e vers Retiro, le Terminal de Bus direction un endroit appelĂ© General Belgrano, un voyage de deux heures au sud de Buenos Aires. Je me dirigeais vers la belle campagne Argentine une fois de plus.

Roxana et Camille, une autre volintaire, m’ont donnĂ© la bienvenue en venant me chercher Ă  l’arrĂȘt de bus. Nous sommes partis au centre du village acheter quelques petits trucs Ă  manger avant de partir Ă  la ferme, chez Roxana et Pablo. Il faisait nuit quand on est arrivĂ©, j’allais donc devoir attendre le lendemain pour dĂ©couvrir ce qui m’entourait! J’ai passĂ© une premiĂšre soirĂ©e tranquille Ă  discuter avec Camille de son expĂ©rience ici et de son voyage.

RĂ©veil Ă  8h30 le lendemain et j’ai enfin pu dĂ©couvrir ce qui m’entourait. C’Ă©tait une belle matinĂ©e, on a installĂ©e une table dehors au soleil pour le petit dĂ©jeuner, entourĂ©e de nature; de champs, d’arbres, d’un grand ciel bleu, de soleil, de poules, de moutons et de vaches au loin.

Pendant mon temps Ă  la ferme j’ai fait beaucoup de peinture, il fallait dĂ©corer le petit potager qui Ă©tait en cours de construction. Pendant l’Ă©tĂ© ils organisent diffĂ©rents ateliers pour les enfants du village, leurs apprenant comment eux aussi peuvent aider Ă  prendre soin de notre monde et dĂ©veloppant leurs crĂ©ativitĂ© Ă  travers la peinture et la musique. J’ai aussi pu travailler sur la maison Ă©cologique qu’ils avaient commencĂ© Ă  construire. J’ai beaucoup appris sur les diffĂ©rentes techniques utilisĂ©es pour chaque mur. J’ai aussi appris Ă  faire des ’empanadas’ avec une amie Ă  Roxi et j’ai pris l’habitude de boire du ‘matĂ©’ tous les jours. Le temps passĂ© lĂ  bas fut trĂšs beau et je suis trĂšs heureuse de les avoir trouvĂ©.

Pablo et Roxi sont deux personnes avec le coeur dans les mains. Ils m’ont fait sentir comme si je formais partit de leurs famille, Ă  manger ensemble, Ă  boire des petits verres de vin le soir tout en discutant de tout et de rien; de la vie sur la ferme Ă  l’histoire de l’Argentine… Merci beaucoup pour tout, pour votre acceuil, votre amabilitĂ© et votre amour.

Ah, et ce weekend ils organisent un atelier pour enseigner aux gens comment construire un four/cheminĂ©e en adobe. Les mois d’hiver approchent et certaines familles n’ont pas accĂ©s au gas pour rester au chaud. Si jamais vous vous trouver dans le coin allez leurs faire un coucou, ils seront ravis de vous acceuillir. Partez Ă  General Belgrano dans la province de Buenos Aires, et cherchez un endroit appelĂ© ‘Puilquen, Posada de Campo’.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Breakfast in the sun | Petit dej au soleil

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Groncho the dog

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
🌄

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
🐑🐑🐑🐑
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
My part of the mural | Ma petite murale

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Ant working hard alongside me | Petite fourmie qui travaille dur à mes cÎtés
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Roxi, Groncho and I
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
La Huerta

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetIMAG2199IMAG2170

IMAG2168
Empanada time!
IMAG2167
Empanada time!

IMAG2169

IMAG2175
Pablo y su mĂșsica
IMAG2165
Bye bye lovely sunsets..

 

 

Leave a Reply

